Networth Update – September 2009

My networth continues on an upward trend and it is gratifying to note that this has been achieved only a short time after making a decision to manage my finances better. Only a few months ago i would have counted my networth in terms of my pension contributions and “assets” such as my car and household goods. Now i exclude the car and household goods from my networth calculations and concentrate on real assets that continue to passively work for me.

As at September, my Emergency Fund is still my number one priority and gets all the ‘bonus’ money i get from time to time. Its now at a healthy 78.3% of my goal and i plan to have it fully funded by end of year so that i can channel money to other investment goals. My overall networth went up a notch to 14.37% of my “15X40” BHAG and being a long term goal am happy with the numbers so far. This goal has been broken down to a medium term goal of having a networth of Ksh. 4million by end of 2010 and this is at a respectable 53.8%. All’s well on that front.

On the stock’s front, i noticed that my portfolio had taken a hit in the months of July and August and clearly this had to do with the temporary upswing in the market which was then followed by general decline. As i intend to rely on the principle of Dollar Cost Averaging, i have treated this as a minor blip in the overall scheme of things. With regular purchases in the coming months and hopefully an upward swing in the market, i should be able to meet my target by December. As things stand now, i am at 71.7% of my goal which is to have a Ksh. 500,000 stock portfolio by end year.

To view my progress bars, visit my Progress Page.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Networth Update – September 2009

  1. hope you are well.i managed to find your blo by chance and i have loved everything about it so ar hope you are still writing because you are very helpful.

Leave a comment